Technology Takes the Wheel – Modernizing Mobility

The Public Education Speaker Series on Self-Driving Vehicles

AAA and the University of Connecticut’s Transportation Safety Research Center (CTSRC) partnered to bring you this FREE educational speaker series, mapping our transition to autonomous vehicles.


Technology Takes the Wheel: Opening Remarks, Commissioner. Amy Porter, Dept. of Aging and Disability Services

Technology Takes the Wheel: An Intro to AVs, Dr. Eric Jackson, UConn Transportation Safety Research Center

Technology Takes the Wheel: Art Guzzetti, VP, APTA: “Public Transportation and MaaS in an On-Demand World”

Technology Takes the Wheel: Jackie Lightfield, Chair, CT AV Task Force, “The Future of Autonomous”

Technology Takes the Wheel: Dennis Solensky, CT DOT Public Transit Administrator, “Micro and Autonomous Transit”

Technology Takes the Wheel: Public/Panel Q and A

Conference Presenters Include:

Art Guzzetti
American Public Transportation Association (APTA)

Mr. Guzzetti has 40 years of experience in public transportation at the local, state and national levels. He currently serves as Vice President-Mobility Initiatives & Policy for the American Public Transportation Association (APTA), the trade group for the public transportation industry. A key current focus is integration of transit networks with new and emerging public and private mobility services, including micro-transit, transportation network companies, automated vehicles and bicycles. And, among other positions, he is the immediate past national president of the Transportation Research Forum.

Jackie Lightfield
Chair, Connecticut Autonomous Vehicles Task Force

Jackie Lightfield was recently appointed as Co-Chairperson of Connecticut’s Autonomous Vehicles Task Force. She is a writer, coder and entrepreneur whose current work at Norwalk 2.0 include bringing Smart City Projects to municipalities including autonomous vehicle infrastructure and practices that prepare stakeholders for new services built on wireless broadband, sensors and IoT.

Additional Speakers Include:

Amy Parmenter
AAA Greater Hartford, Manager, Public and Government Affairs

Eric Jackson
Executive Director, Connecticut Transportation Institute
Director, Connecticut Transportation Safety Research Center

Dennis Solensky
CTDOT, Public Transit Administrator

Amy Porter
Commissioner, Department of Aging and Disability Services